Norman Perren Memorial Trial – 1st Jan 2023

What a great start to 2023! The sun shone, the birds sang and 34 drivers took to the hills on the fields of Seckford Hall.  A huge thank you as always to all the marshals for helping the day run so smoothly – club motorsport does not happen without your assistance!

Despite the heavy rain the afternoon of the day before (the setup team got finished just in time!), there was sufficient grip on the sandy soil, even under the trees.  We had 8 first timers on the event and their smiles and decent scores clearly showed that they had a great day.  At the top end it was very close, at lunch 5 drivers still had a clean sheet, but careful tweaking of the hills put the pressure on in the afternoon.  In the end 2 drivers maintained their perfect score all day, and John Holder took overall honours by virtue of smaller engine size, from Barry Redmayne who picked up the Class D win.  Class A was won by Ian Webb in the nimble Smart Fortwo, Class B by David Holmes in the always impressive Seat Ibiza and Class C by Barry Denny in the Mazda MX-5.

Please click the link below to see individual hill scores and overall results: